



Friday 30 June 2023

Championship leader Bortoleto quickest in Spielberg

Gabriel Bortoleto hit the ground running in Spielberg, setting the track record with a 1:19.410 to top Free Practice for Trident. The Brazilian was 0.148s quicker than Jenzer Motorsport's Taylor Barnard, while Gabriele Minì left it late to take third for Hitech Pulse-Eight.

Once the tyre preparation laps were complete, Paul Aron set the initial benchmark to beat with a 1:21.998 on his first effort. The Estonian's 1:21.205 was three-tenths quicker than PREMA Racing teammate Dino Beganovic, who had a heart-in-mouth moment shortly after. The Swede had fast reactions to keep his car pointing the right way following a huge snap of oversteer that sent him wide at the penultimate corner on his next attempt.

Luke Browning was next to go to the top as the times continued to fall. The Hitech Pulse-Eight driver's 1:21.056 was just 0.027s quicker than Caio Collet in P2, while Grégoire Saucy filtered into third with just under half an hour remaining.

Championship leader Bortoleto assumed the top spot with 26 minutes to go, becoming the first driver into the 1:20s with a 1:20.929.

With just over 16 minutes remaining, the Red Flags were out after Sebastián Montoya beached his #14 Hitech Pulse-Eight in the gravel trap on the outside of Turn 7. The session resumed with 12 minutes left on the clock and everyone returned to the track on soft Pirelli tyres having run their carry-over hard tyres earlier on.

ART Grand Prix's Saucy was first in the queue with prime track position and set a 1:20.306 for the rest to beat. Franco Colapinto and then Collet were able to do so, the Brazilian dipping into the 1:19s with less than five minutes to go.

Aron, Colapinto and Collet all improved on their next laps, but it was Bortoleto that went quickest, setting a 1:19.410 to take the top spot. Taylor Barnard was one of the late improvers as he moved his Jenzer Motorsport #27 up to second, while Minì went third-fastest in the final seconds of the session, 0.253s down on the top time.

Collet made a promising start to the weekend for Van Amersfoort Racing, finishing Practice fourth. He was ahead of Colapinto, Browning, Aron, Josep María Martí, Beganovic and Saucy, with the Swiss rounding out the top 10.

Qualifying is set to get underway at 15:00 local time.

CONTINUES

Contact: Alexa Quintin Head of Media & Communications - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777 Katie McGuinness Communication Manager - katie@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7929 731 457 The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP logo, the FIA logo, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 and related marks are trade marks of the Federation International de L'Automobile and used under exclusive licence. All rights reserved.







MEDIA RELEASE

2023 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP – ROUND 6 FREE PRACTICE PROVISIONAL CLASSIFICATION

I		Ι	DRIVER	I	LICENCE	Ι	TEAM	Ι	LAPTIME	Т
Т	1	Т	Gabriel Bortoleto	I	BRA	Т	Trident	Т	1:19.410	Ι
Т	2	Т	Taylor Barnard	I	GBR	Т	Jenzer Motorsport	Т	1:19.558	Ι
Т	3	Т	Gabriele Minì	I	ITA	Т	Hitech Pulse-Eight	Т	1:19.663	Ι
Т	4	Т	Caio Collet	I	BRA	Т	Van Amersfoort Racing	Т	1:19.683	Т
Т	5	Т	Franco Colapinto	I	ARG	Т	MP Motorsport	Т	1:19.725	Т
Т	6	Т	Luke Browning	I	GBR	Т	Hitech Pulse-Eight	Τ	1:19.763	Т
Т	7	Т	Paul Aron	I	EST	Т	PREMA Racing	Τ	1:19.838	Т
Т	8	Т	Dino Beganovic	I	SWE	Т	PREMA Racing	Т	1:19.917	Т
Т	9	Т	Grégoire Saucy	I	CHE	Т	ART Grand Prix	Т	1:19.996	Т
Т	10	Т	Oliver Goethe	I	DEU	Т	Trident	Τ	1:20.067	Τ
Т	11	Т	Josep María Martí	I	ESP	Τ	Campos Racing	Ι	1:20.071	Ι
Т	12	Т	Zak O'Sullivan	I	GBR	Τ	PREMA Racing	Ι	1:20.154	Ι
Т	13	Т	Leonardo Fornaroli	I	ITA	Τ	Trident	Ι	1:20.163	Ι
Т	14	Т	Nikita Bedrin	I	ITA	Т	Jenzer Motorsport	Τ	1:20.182	Τ
Т	15	Т	Christian Mansell	I	GBR	Ι	Campos Racing	Т	1:20.226	Т
Т	16	Т	Jonny Edgar	I	GBR	Ι	MP Motorsport	Т	1:20.300	Т
Т	17	Т	Nikola Tsolov	I	BGR	Ι	ART Grand Prix	Т	1:20.305	Т
Т	18	Т	Mari Boya	I	ESP	Ι	MP Motorsport	Т	1:20.444	Т
Т	19	Т	Kaylen Frederick	I	USA	Ι	ART Grand Prix	Т	1:20.573	Т
Т	20	Т	Hugh Barter	I	AUS	Ι	Campos Racing	Т	1:20.634	Т
Т	21	Т	Oliver Gray	I	GBR	Τ	Rodin Carlin	Ι	1:20.806	Ι
Т	22	Т	Sophia Floersch	I	DEU	Τ	PHM Racing by Charouz	Ι	1:21.027	Ι
Т	23	Т	Rafael Villagómez	I	MEX	Τ	Van Amersfoort Racing	Ι	1:21.049	Ι
Т	24	Т	Alejandro García	I	MEX	Τ	Jenzer Motorsport	Ι	1:21.057	Ι
Т	25	Т	Sebastian Montoya	I	COL	Τ	Hitech Pulse-Eight	Ι	1:21.105	Ι
Т	26	Τ	McKenzy Cresswell	I	GBR	Ι	PHM Racing by Charouz	Ι	1:21.105	Ι
Т	27	Τ	Tommy Smith	I	AUS	Ι	Van Amersfoort Racing	Ι	1:21.172	Ι
Т	28	Т	Hunter Yeany	Ι	USA	Т	Rodin Carlin	Ι	1:21.248	Ι
Т	29	Т	Ido Cohen	I	ISR	Т	Rodin Carlin	Т	1:21.450	Т
Т	30	Т	Roberto Faria	I	BRA	Т	PHM Racing by Charouz	Т	1:22.578	Т

ENDS

About the FIA Formula 3 Championship™

THE F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP LOGO, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 AND RELATED MARKS ARE TRADEMARKS OF THE FEDERATION INTERNATIONALE DE L'AUTOMOBILE AND USED UNDER LICENCE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Contact: Alexa Quintin Head of Media & Communications - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777 Katie McGuinness Communication Manager - katie@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7929 731 457 The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP lago the FIA logo FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP FIA FORMULA 3 FO

The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP logo, the FIA logo, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 and related marks are trade marks of the Federation International de L'Automobile and used under exclusive licence. All rights reserved.



